Posted by: hatzihatzi | March 16, 2012

What do you do with cabbage?

St. Patrick’s Day is more fun to celebrate in New Orleans than Mardi Gras. There are fewer tourists, so that means a smaller crowd, a bunch of drunk guys ranging in age from 18-80 will kiss you on the cheek and give you a fake flower, and you get free cabbage! At the Irish Channel Parade, the people on the floats will throw you cabbage, potatoes, carrots, onions, and other things you need to make a stew. And sometimes boxes of Lucky Charms or Irish Spring soap. I think once I even got Ramen. I’m not sure how that’s Irish. The down side of this is usually that I end up with several heads of cabbage. I can really only eat so much of it. For some reason, when I’m there at the parade, I find myself screaming for more heads of cabbage and useless crap. Suddenly a string of beads or a poorly made stuffed animal becomes the most priceless thing in the world, and I would do anything to have it! I once had a barbie-type doll ripped out of my hands by a frat boy, almost kissed a total stranger for a rubber chicken, and traded a bottle of Chivas Regal for a coconut. Please! Give me that crap that I could just buy at the dollar store!

My husband likes to make an Israeli salad with our cabbages (or as he just calls it, salad). The salad is basically tomatoes, cucumbers, and red peppers cut up into tiny, tiny pieces, tossed with lemon juice, olive oil, and pepper. Depending on what we have (I guess thus becoming the gumbo of the Israeli/Jewish world), we also add cilantro, parsley, or onion. And, after St. Patrick’s Day, we add finely sliced cabbage.

What do you do with cabbage?

Responses

  1. I guess the more appropriate question for me would be, “What don’t you do with cabbage?” 🙂

    I’m stuffing some tomorrow for St. Patrick’s Day…and serving it with some colcannon.

    Very funny post, ma’am. P~

  2. What do I do with cabbage?

    Avoid it at all costs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

