Posted by: hatzihatzi | February 16, 2012

More on pomegranates. Apparently,I’m obsessed.

My mother-in-law has a pomegranate tree growing outside her kitchen window. She can reach out of her window at any time and get a fresh pomegranate. I’m pretty jealous, even though I don’t like raw pomegranate that much. It just think it’s a cool novelty.

I was a vegetarian for about 15 years before I met my husband and fell off the wagon. Then he got all into animal rights and crap and stopped eating meat. And I’ve been reluctant to follow because chicken is tasty. Especially the pomegranate chicken we used to make together. Since he won’t eat it anymore, I haven’t had the heart to make it. (Once I tried to make it with a meat substitute, but it just wasn’t the same.) But I’ll share the recipe with you.

Be warned, this is not a food blog. I cook by smelling things and tasting things, so I’m not sharing with you an exact science that I perfected and wrote down. I’m just kind of guestimating. I’m also crap and following directions, which I’m sure pissed my friend off at the Saucy Southerner when I fucked up her fudge. (You mean I had to pay attention to the temperature? Sorry, P. I suck. But I was able to get it right after she held my hand, and I recommend everyone try her fudge. It’s delicious. Just follow the instructions.)

So here is pomegranate chicken (it’s a Persian thing):

  • enough olive oil to fry things (I think I meant saute, not deep fry. This isn’t supposed to be a fried chicken thing. Plus, I think deep frying things in olive oil would be cost prohibitive.)
  • about 1 1/2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 tablespoon cumin powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon tumermic
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 onion chopped
  • some ground-up walnuts (the original recipe called for walnuts, but I prefer almonds)
  • pomegranate juice (maybe around a cup)
  • a few plums cut up into bite sized pieces
  • maybe some sugar depending on how sweet you want it

Brown chicken in oil and spices in some sort of cooking device (like a pot, large skillet, or a wok). Add onion and saute until clearish. Add plums. Add pomegranate juice. Add sugar to taste (or not at all). The sauce should be slightly thick and brownish in color. Serve over rice. (It’s really better than it sounds and doesn’t deserve to be described as “brownish.’) If you’re Persian, eat with raw onion (something I still think is gross).

Enjoy with Chicken with Plums.

Responses

  1. This may be the best AND least descriptive recipe I’ve ever read!

    P’s fudge IS amazing. I haven’t made it myself, but someday. Maybe.

    • I think part of my inability to cook has to do with my dyscalculia. I will invariably miscalculate things or use the wrong size pot/bowl/pan and end up spilling things. So I figured, when explaining to others, less is more.

  2. I was NOT pissed off. Horrified, yes. Piss off? No. But…you did it! And that made me so incredibly happy!

    I’d love to try this recipe…I’ll just have to leave out the ginger. As it would kill me. And that WOULD piss me off. 😉

    P~

    • I think that you are just too polite to admit your ire and that pomegranate chicken would still be good without the ginger.

      • No…I swear! I was distressed that it failed you…it made me feel like I failed you. I was thrilled that you were willing to try it again. And beside myself that you succeeded! Never mad. Ever.

        And thanks! I’ll try the chicken then. P~

  3. I would love anything with pomegranates, I think.

    • If you make this, please let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

