Posted by: hatzihatzi | February 6, 2012

One size doesn’t fit all…unless it’s a condom

I’m anti-circ. I don’t think I’m an intactivist. I believe that education, not legislation, is the best way to get people to change. I believe that we need to educate the practice out of existence and that criminalizing it will only make the behavior more dangerous. I feel this way about female circumcision too. Start the firestorm.

I get that the AIDS rate is lower among circumcised men, but I can’t get behind a movement that thinks it’s easier to mutilate a baby than it to teach men to wear a condom. This gets my back up: http://www.monitor.co.ug/News/World/-/688340/1319384/-/120xdup/-/ (Just like it’s easier to teach kids to avoid pedophile priests than it is to teach priests not to rape: http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=105×7204035) Never mind that circumcision hasn’t been shown to have an affect on other things transmitted by sex. And never mind that being circumcised won’t prevent a gay man from getting AIDS (oh, right, it’s illegal to be gay in Africa anyway http://www.newstatesman.com/human-rights/2009/11/sexual-gay-uganda-bill-person). As long as we appease the Catholic Church by keeping penises out of condoms and in the vaginas of raped virgins, where they belong. http://www.scienceinafrica.co.za/2002/april/virgin.htm (I know, I know. One of these things is not like the other. I’m in a pissy mood for other reasons too.)

Responses

  1. I’ve actually been meaning to ask how E felt about this. I know we had lengthy discussions before you were married, but didn’t know if he felt the same way. All of our boys are uncut, and I think it’s ridiculous to continue to mutilate our children.

    • I’m very happy and relieved that E felt the same way. His parents didn’t, but I think they got over it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

