Posted by: hatzihatzi | November 27, 2011

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving

Around the Jewish New Year, I made some sort of resolution to post here more. That was a few months ago, so I guess you can see how well that worked out for me.

This Thanksgiving marks three years of my husband being a vegetarian. He is a vegetarian because of my cat Frodo. At first, they didn’t really get along. In Israel, there are stray cats everywhere. He tells me people think of them like squirrels. So when we moved in with him, he wondered why I was bringing a squirrel into his home. But now they are close and Frodo makes my husband wonder how he could ever have eaten an animal. I was a vegetarian for about 15 years before I met my husband. Then I moved to Texas. You can be a vegetarian in Texas, but why would you? So after getting me to eat meat, three years ago on Thanksgiving, E refused to eat pretty much anything at my mother’s house. And now, whenever we go over to her house, in stereotypical fashion she nags me about him getting enough to eat.

I’m thankful for our new home. E and I bought a house earlier this year. It was vacant for about a year and a half before we moved in, so there is a lot of work to be done. The up side of that is that we can make it be anything we want it to be. The down side is that it’s taking a while. The living room has become an office/playroom while we finish our basement, which is filled with mold and boxes that haven’t been unpacked. I like our neighbors. The people on one side of us are Orthodox. After they learned E is Israeli, they asked me if I’m Jewish, while apologizing for being rude and assuring me that it didn’t matter.

I’m thankful Q is a chatter box. He had a speech delay. Several months ago, I was pretty worried about it. Q was making animal sounds and saying “up” and “abba” while his cousin of the same age could have tried out for his pre-school’s debate team. We were told that kids learning two languages might have an initial delay, and that is certainly what we noticed. He started late, but he seems to have made up for it. In two languages. I love hearing him tell E one thing in Hebrew and then tell me again in English. Or hearing him throw in a Hebrew word when talking to me. Or throwing in a Hebrew sound, like “ch,” when using an English word. Like saying “chat” instead of “hat.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

