Posted by: hatzihatzi | April 16, 2012

How we shiver with affright

I wanted to go downtown today for a symposium at the law school. It was great and afterwards I wandered around and found the burial place of my great, great, et cetera uncle. I took some pictures and thought you might enjoy them. They were taken with my camera phone, so please excuse the bad quality. And I’m a shit photographer.

The outside of the church which is now part of the law school.

 

His grave from the outside of the burial ground.

His wife.

Up until recently, someone would place roses and cognac on his grave at his birthday. But not anymore, so it is believed the “Poe Toaster” died. I thought my aunt would keep up the tradition, but she told me to do it. Because I want to wander around Baltimore in the middle of the night in the dead of winter.

 


Responses

  1. Wow. These are better than you gave yourself credit for.

    • Thank you. (Nearly everyone in my family is an artist except for me, so I’m pretty critical. But I think these turned out ok-ish, even if I was holding the camera at a weird angle in the last one…)

  2. If I were there, I would leave the roses and cognac for him, if you didn’t want to get out in that weather. These pictures are lovely.

    • It’s less the weather and more the Baltimore is a rough town at night. Though if I’m going to risk my life delivering roses and alcohol, I’d rather do it in the summer.

      Thanks.

      • I can understand that. I’ve never been to Baltimore myself, but I’ve always lived in pretty big urban centers, so I get it.

  3. Are you planning on watching the Raven? ^^

    • I hadn’t even heard of it until now. Maybe? I was going to say no, I hate John Cusack, but apparently he was in things I didn’t hate.

  4. [...] than be woken up in the middle of the night by a terrified child. But my kid’s a tough guy. Scarey stories are in his blood. (Yeah, um, that’s my other blog that I stopped using. Sorry.) Anyway, this movie was about an [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

